Inductee Alexander Rodriguez, center, with Dr. Latitia McCane, right, and Pat Krystyn.

Apprentice School National Society of Leadership and Success (NSLS) Chapter Inducts 24

Published March 15, 2023

Newport News Shipbuilding’s Apprentice School Chapter of the National Society of Leadership and Success (NSLS) inducted 24 new members in its ninth cohort on Feb. 17. Since its inception in June 2018, the chapter has inducted more than 170 members.

Presiding over the ceremony were faculty advisers Pat Krystyn and Amy Tiedemann and Jamica Jones, student chapter president. Dr. Latitia McCane, director of Education at The Apprentice School, delivered the keynote address.

During the ceremony, student leader Nicholas Rapoza, was awarded the Impact Leader Award in recognition of his efforts to streamline the Success Networking Teams portion of the chapter’s leadership development program. The NSLS helps members build communication and leadership skills through a five-step Foundations of Leadership development program. Advanced and executive leadership certifications are also available. Candidates are selected based on academic and on-the-job performance, as well as leadership potential.

Congratulations to the newest members of the NSLS, including five who hold student leader positions for the chapter: Kayleb Belangeri, Tyler Bradshaw, Ryan Brugger, Sean Carlson (membership outreach chair), Trey Cleaver, Patrick Cox, William Custer, Natasha Daniels, Connor Greenleaf (chapter secretary), Kade Hammett, Gregory Hare, William Hyatt (community service chair), Kayla Kennedy, Kevin Murphy, Christopher Polyson, Alexander Rodriguez, Aileen Rudiger (chapter vice president), Kelly Smith, Ryan Szanto, Kevin Sze, Johnathan Waller (society events chair), Jazzmin Walters, Charles Ware III and Andrew Wiles.