Pictured from left are Satchel Powell, Justin Breault, Robert Teel and Robert Lane.

Recognizing National Quality Month

Published October 19, 2021

As Newport News Shipbuilding continues to observe National Quality Month, O06 is highlighting In-Service Aircraft Carrier (ISCVN) Programs, which encompasses USS George Washington (CVN 73) and USS John C. Stennis (CVN 74). Below is a message from Mike Jones, ISCVN program trade director.

“The work that we do building and overhauling the world’s most advanced aircraft carriers and submarines is extremely important, for they stand as powerful symbols of our nation’s military might. The men and women who serve on these great vessels depend on NNS to provide the highest quality products to allow them to protect our nation and ensure our freedom. It is important for us to continuously strive for and produce first-time quality. This helps eliminate defects and waste, improves cost and schedule performance, and – most importantly – allows us to build customer confidence,” he said.

Pictured from left are Vernon Eason, Kurt Fortner, Zachary Taylor, Benjamin Lanning, Tyler Grice and Dino Martin.

The Quality Team also recognized the first round of “Quality Craftsman” winners: Justin Breault (X18) and X18 group “The Delivery Team,” including Tyler Grice (X18), Zachary Taylor (X18), Kurt Fortner (X18) and Benjamin Lanning (X18).

Since 2018, Breault has welded 481 consecutive pipe X-ray welds without a single defect, leading NNS in pass rate/welded pipe X-rays for nuclear and non-nuclear pipe joints. His message to new shipbuilders: “Understand the procedures, work to the procedures, and prioritize compliance.”

Often requested by name, members of “The Delivery Team” have continually displayed exemplary first-time quality during their daily tasks with multiple counts of zero rejects and no failures, citing their abilities as second to none. The next round of “Quality Craftsman” nominations is due Oct. 22. All nominations should be sent to the appropriate program quality manager (PQM) within Steve DeBusk’s group.